Classic Happy Relax Passionate Dreamless Halloween Photoshop Netscape DOS

Lately » link-builder spam

This has a very spammy feel to me. Anybody else received one of these?

I discovered sashadesign.com in Yahoo, my favorite directory. I am requesting that you create a link from sashadesign.com to my client's web site if you feel that their content is in some way related or complements your site. In exchange, I'll post a link from their site to yours.

Exchanging links will help bring in more business for both your web site and my client's. An added benefit is increased search engine traffic because the search engines rank sites higher that have a good number of relevant links.

This is not a free-for-all link exchange, I don't waste my time with them and you shouldn't either. I am only linking to related web sites so that all my links are relevant to my site.

I would like to send you my client's web address, so that you can review their site. My client utilizes search engine optimization research and technology for top search engine placement.

Please let me know if you are interested in exchanging links. I'll send you more details once I hear back from you.

Looking forward to your reply.

Sincerely,
Leslie Oneal
leslieoneal@link-builder.com
http://www.link-builder.com

P.S. If for any reason you don't want me to contact again, just email me and let me know.

:: Sasha, at 04:11 pm on Tuesday, 29. April 2003

I have received a number of these. I finally replied and asked them to stop emailing me, and they did. (See note at bottom of email.) My theory is that no legitimate company hides information like this unless they're trying to gather your personal info first.

:: Bob, at 09:21 pm on Tuesday, 29. April 2003

If I do a google search for link-builder spam:
http://www.google.com/search?q=link-builder+spam
A few sites complained about them.

In general, I never reply to these emails, because it just tells them that your email is valid. However, you might be right here, they seem to be a legitimate company.

I just hate spam.

:: Sasha, at 09:41 pm on Tuesday, 29. April 2003

I've gotten a handful of these over time.

Funny how it's always from a new 'person' every time.

The one I got today - the one that got me googling for "link-builder spam" - is the worst yet.

My Marathon site is very new and there are no emailaddresses on the site yet, so they just fabricated a webmaster@marathon...

So no human ever visited my site, but look what their email said:

...it looks like it's relevant to a site for which I am seeking links.

Yeah right :-(

Want to know what this "super-brain" think my site is relevant for?

"...The site is about a online degee searching utility."

Ok, granted, "online degree" and "training programs" could have something to do with each other, but come on...

I actually pity the poor customers who hire these (this?) dudes to generate "quality inbound links"

Or maybe they are just building links for their own other businesses...

Hey, it could even be those 10 or 12 companies that showed up the other day when my fingers fumbled and I accidentally ended up searching for "marathin training programs" in Google.

:: Henrik, at 12:28 pm on Wednesday, 28. January 2004

Post your scrawl




HTML tags are not supported. URLs are linked automatically.

Please enter :

Useless scrawling facts:

Top 5 scrawlers:
(updated once a day)
556 Sasha
488 zoka
316 vitez-koja
235 Davor
58 mungos